on the first day of spring

image

… it seems appropriate to talk about nature. I for one am completely ready to burst open the windows and doors to welcome the fresh, crisp air of Spring.

I read this article this morning on one of my favourite websites. What really struck a chord with me was this: “We’re at the mercy of the plants, the fungus, the beetles, the trees, the bees. They don’t need us, but holy hell we need them. No insects to pollinate crops, no food. No trees to transform carbon dioxide into oxygen, no air. No plants, no life. That’s that.” The Planthunter

It is all too easy to drive around each day, barely noticing our surroundings. Our natural surroundings. To use our cars without thinking and to ignore nature for days on end. Well this is true for me, anyway. But on those days that I get out in the yard or in the sun or out for a walk, on those days my mind is clearer. Life has more purpose. I’m reminded of what really matters and the importance of our roles in protecting it.

So today, on this first day of Spring, close your eyes and let the sun play on your face. Smell the breeze and touch a leaf. Notice which plants are coming to life on the route to school/work/kinder… I’m sure just a little part of you will come to life too, after lying dormant over the Winter months.

Leave a Reply

