I’ll eat half now and save the other half for when I’m dying

That is what Birdie said to me last night when I was bribing her with a cupcake after dinner.

Hmm, ok, well I think it will have gone stale by then…

I’m SO AWKWARD with three year old death talk! And it’s all we seem to be talking about this week!

“I can’t water those flowers because they are dead.”

“If the sun doesn’t come out all the plants will die.”

“When you’re dead what will you do?”

“Teddy can’t play because he’s dead today.”

And the most difficult: “I don’t want to die.

I suppose this is just the beginning, as although she is having fun playing with the word, she is still too young to have much or any understanding of what it actually is.

Dear little Birdie, I suppose this is just the beginning of a number of difficult topics and conversations we will have together. I remember thinking that my parents knew EVERYTHING. These are my earnest words: I most certainly don’t. Wish me luck! Love, Mama.

2 thoughts on “I’ll eat half now and save the other half for when I’m dying

Leave a Reply

