crocheted lop-sided rainbow leg warmers

IMG_7301

I made these for Birdie the other week for the Winter Solstice. It was freezing that day and we had to rug up! What better excuse to make a pair of rainbow leg warmers? My intention was to come on here and write my very first extra fancy tutorial on how to make them, because I’m surely sure that as soon as you saw the pictures of these babies your arms jumped on your wool basket and you flung yourself back to the screen with your crochet hook in one hand and ten balls of bright coloured wool in the other screaming TELL ME HOW TO MAKE THEM RIGHT NOW.

But then I opened up the screen and realised about two weeks has gone by since I made them and I can’t actually remember what I did. I do remember that they are both different sizes and one is about double the width of the other but if I’m writing a proper tutorial then I’m not meant to tell you that.

And then I saw that in the photo above there is a stray bit of wool sticking out of one of them and it doesn’t look very professional or fancy.

So. If you’re still with me and you don’t care if one leg warmer is double the size of the other or there are stray bits of wool sticking out of mine because I tied a few bits of wool together and then just cut the ends off instead of stitching them in properly, then you should read the following extra fancy information so you can make your own pair.

Choose as many colours as you want. Decide what order you want the colours in or just make that part up as you go along. I chained 37 or 38 stitches to start but as I chained I just wrapped the chain around Birdie’s leg until I reached my desired width. In the first leg warmer I made a big rectangle and then stitched it together at the end. Don’t do that. Once you’ve got your chain the length/width (gah!) you want, then you just slip stitch it together to form a circle. Then I used treble stitch and did one row of each colour until the leg warmer was long enough. Then to get the extra fancy shell stitch at the bottom (or top, whatever you want) — I’m pausing now trying really hard to remember how I did this — Ok, try this: 2dc, 1htc, then in the fourth stitch: 5 x tc, 1htc, 2 dc – repeat. Does that make any sense?

Ok now go and make millions of pairs of lop-sided leg warmers for your kids and post pictures of them on instagram or on your blogs and tag me (@motherwho) so I can see! Yay for lop-sided rainbow legwarmers!

Leave a Reply

