morning rising: fail

A few weeks ago I wrote about my intention to get up early, smell the roses, put a pot of coffee on the stove and have some time for me before the kidlets awake each day. For those of you thinking of me as dawn breaks, gently rising a foot here and an arm there in a delicate yoga pose, breathing in for four and out for four, gliding about my house in a serene manner and sipping a hot cup of coffee with a raised pinky while my children stir dreamily, I felt it was my responsibility to set you straight.

I got up early, yep: once.

I’m sorry to say it.

But I failed.

That one day that I did rise at 6am, the pixie was up and attached to me by 6.20. Birdie was hollering for her breakfast – NOW, at 6.40. Since that lovely day when I had a whole glorious 20 minutes to myself I have attempted a few times to rise early. But when Pixie began waking up a million times a night again (after I thought she had settled into a 1-2 times a night kinda thing) I temporarily put a halt on any dreams of this.

I hope you don’t think less of me. I must admit I still do find my time at night a lot more pleasurable because there is much less chance that one of them will wake up and I am likely to have a couple of hours to myself, if I please. In the mornings On that one morning, I did feel a bit stressed not knowing exactly how long I would have, and knowing that it wouldn’t be any more than one hour max.

So a halt to the plans for now, but I will try again… soon… yes…

Are you an early riser or a night owl?

5 thoughts on “morning rising: fail

  1. Oh thank God! I failed when I tried this too! I used to be such a morning person but since the kids I am a night owl. Loving the time after they go to sleep! Our new morning routine involves Charlee waking as she hears Drew turn off the shower. She happily chats and eats breakfast whilst I lay comatosed in bed, stumbling out as he walks out the door. Lexie graces us with her presence sometime around 8:30/9am unless we have somewhere to be where she needs to be civil when she’ll wake at 6 hence rendering her a tired mess when we are at said destination!!!!!

    • Haha the photo kinda gives it away 😉 Was thinking you must have opened a new account so was more confused about that! Unfortunately never in my life have I been a morning person, so if I ever reach the goal I will be mighty proud!

  2. I’m very much a night owl since my daughter came along! I used to be early to bed and early to rise, but now the only time I have to myself is once she’s asleep at night, so I find myself staying up later and later just so I can do things I want to do, like write or read 🙂 Totally understand how you feel!

Leave a Reply

