is she a good baby?

I had a dream last night. It wasn’t a bad dream, but it was dark and dim. Full and heavy. One of those dreams that lingers with you throughout your morning. I can’t even remember what it was about now, although this morning when I woke up was woken up I was sure I wouldn’t forget as the day went on. A weird cloud to have over the start of the day today.

Times have been a little trying this week, I think I have finally confirmed that the little gal has reflux. Hence the crying during and after feeding, dislike of being on the mat, five minutes of on and off breastfeeding sometimes equalling an hour of resettling and so on. I found a website on reflux in babies and she has 90% of the the symptoms. Oh dear. I’m hoping the osteo treatment will help and this will just be a distant memory in a couple of weeks. Despite that, and being pretty sleep deprived I am in surprisingly good spirits.

I’ve been thinking a bit about the funny things people say to you when you have a newborn. The two I am mostly puzzled slash amused about are:

Is she a good baby?

and,

Are you getting much sleep?

In my eyes, yes, she is a marvellous baby, I think I’ll keep her! And am I getting much sleep? I usually answer, “As much as can be expected!” Maybe it is just my kids that don’t sleep much. Last night I had what I would consider to be a great night at the moment, with the baby sleeping for 9 hours in 3 blocks (4 hours, 3 hours, 2 hours) from 7pm to 6am this morning. I do have a friend whose baby sleeps a hell of a lot. Is she a “good baby” and mine a bad one? They are both quite cute, regardless!

Personally I think all babies are pretty great, despite the challenges that someone small can bring.

8 thoughts on “is she a good baby?

  1. I have 2 little girls that “aren’t sleepers” but they are very good babies 🙂

    Like you, I am puzzled by these questions. I always answer that my babies are “GOOD” and that “my babies sleep like babies”. I am aware that some babies sleep like adults very early on. But I’m not jealous. I’ve always loved our nighttime feeds and snuggles.

    I tend to think that life is a mixed bag for every mummy. ie. your baby might sleep all night, but have other issues. Noone gets a completely easy pregnancy, birth and mothering journey! There’ll always be some challenge along the way…

    Love your posts! x

    • Thanks Nicole, I totally agree!

      It’s much easier to enjoy the nighttime cuddles and quiet this time around – one, because our days are so loud and busy, and two, because I know how this time is gone in a flash!

      Thanks so much for your comments, I really appreciate them! 🙂 xo

  2. The ‘good’ baby tag has always baffled me. How on earth could a baby be bad? Sound like she had a great night, particularly if the poor sausage has reflux. And, if it makes sleep seem overrated, my L has a very misshapen cone head now, common apparently in “babies who sleep a lot” :-/ Those nighttime cuddles are definitely precious and like you say, even more precious second time round. I’m getting a sneaky one this morning which is lovely – uninterrupted, peaceful, still time with bubba-precious, particularly when we know that with a blink they’ll be climbing off the bed and able to say “no ” to cuddles!

    • Oh poor L, apparently very easy to fix at the osteo though! Let me know if you want the details of Anna’s clinic. Yes I agree, all babies are great! I just woke up, sitting propped up in the bed cuddling a baby who stopped breastfeeding nearly an hour and a half ago. It feels like I just closed my eyes for a second, I couldn’t believe all that time passed. No wonder my bum is sore! xoxo

  3. I wrote this post in my head!!! Exactly!! How could a baby be bad???
    My most annoying thing people say is : rest when the baby rests. That is My ONLY time to do things hands free!

    Here is the shop I was talking about and here is what I bought: https://www.etsy.com/transaction/93460374. Bought it to go to a wedding that was last weekend but we decided not to go as it was in WA and it was all to hard and xpensive.

    • I know!! I’d love to as well but I have a toddler running around so not an option here. And the day I don’t have Nella I just love the peace and quiet in the house to have a cup of tea! In saying that, Saffron is hardly sleeping in the day at all this week :/ but as I have learnt before, each phase passes and soon it will be replaced by something new. Gorgeous top by the way! I ended up finding a dress I THINK will be appropriate. Fingers crossed!! xxx

Leave a Reply

