breastfeeding blues

It’s a hard gig, isn’t it – even when it isn’t? Does that make sense? What I mean is, even when things go well for you breastfeeding – your milk comes in, you have a good supply, your baby latches correctly, your nipples are a great shape (now I’m just showing off), I still never knew before I had N that breastfeeding could be hard work!

At the moment, breastfeeding is hard work. Little Saff has been really fussy, coming on and off and crying a lot during and after feeding. It’s become increasingly more so in the last week. We made a little trip to one of our chiro friends tonight and she was a good little bunny letting him adjust her here and there. Hopefully it makes a difference. We had a chat about my diet and soy and dairy products and so on. I nearly fell off my chair when he suggested I could try having my soy latte every second day (instead of each day) and then everyΒ thirdΒ day (I think I may have physically gagged at this point) to see if it had any effect. But of course I’d put my child’s needs before my own in this situation and give it a go [gritted teeth].

It’s so easy to blame yourself when you’re feeling sensitive and hormonal and new-mothery. It’s easy for me to think that it’s because I’m eating broccolli, watching television, not watching my posture, that she’s getting a tummy ache or being fussy at the breast. I know it’s unlikely that it’s any of these things.

When I started breastfeeding myself, I realised how in some circumstances it could take hard work and dedication to make it work. I can understand why many women give up breastfeeding, even when they don’t want to.Β We’re lucky to have such good resources here in Aus to call on when we’re having problems breastfeeding. These are some I have either used and/or come across over my breastfeeding journey and would recommend if you want more information about breastfeeding:

:: The Australian Breastfeeding Association (includes a helpline, support groups and email counselling among other things)

:: Your local Maternal Child Health Nurse

:: Your midwife or GP

:: Your chiropractor or osteopath (somehow I have a number of pals in this industry, and they are good pals to have that’s for sure)

:: The Raising Children Network

:: Your local mother’s group or playgroup (I have found that so many mums are in the same boat at similar times/baby ages)

You probably have some to add?

3 thoughts on “breastfeeding blues

  1. You’re right Lucy. It IS hard. I had no trouble breastfeeding or even pumping ample milk so I could work while breastfeeding. I watched my friends suffer with mastitis and low supply and even organising donations between us to be sure they had milk. But despite it being straightforward for me, it was taxing and unrelenting. No doubt it is a big commitment to make to another person. I feel more humbled than ever when a woman chooses to persist through the hardest parts of it, like you are. In solidarity, Sarah.

  2. There are some great breastfeeding books I would suggest a new mom having on hand in the early days, weeks, and months of breastfeeding. I know it’s all on the web these days, but I’m still a fan of books! πŸ˜‰

  3. Pingback: at home | motherwho

Leave a Reply

