welcome, winter ~ our first winter nature table

Dragged my sorry self off the couch on Tuesday and vowed our house would be a Tinker Bell Free Zone, for one day. We’ve now made it through two Tinker Bell free days and both feel a lot better for it. I can imagine when Baby cottons onto the fact that Tinker Bell comes in times of ill health only – at this point – that there might be a few cases of fake coughing about.

I decided we’d make a start on our first ever nature table – or in our case, nature shelf. Wasn’t entirely sure what to do, although I’ve seen a few photos of some awesome ones. I got the idea to make some winter stars here, and I’m afraid I’m not linking to the correct post as it was a few days ago that I stumbled across it and now can’t find the correct one that had the tutorial to make the stars. We didn’t have any tissue paper, but I figured using scribbled on drafts of my last uni assignment was better for the environment anyway…

It might look like we spent a long time collecting and searching outside in the wilderness, but in reality we went into our front yard for about four minutes, in which time Baby was much more interested in picking clovers and checking the letterbox than finding winter’s treasures.

Nevertheless, it’s a start. We don’t have any of the fancy Waldorf decorations to turn this into something that could end up on pinterest. But it’s ours! If I can get my head around blanket stitch any time soon there might be a gnome or two to add to this. Baby has also requested a winter fairy (Tinker BELLL!!!!) to which I have smiled and given my best elusive “Oh, yes, great idea, Mummy will definitely give that her best shot” type of response. I tried looking up a few basic felt tutorials for winter fairies and gnomes. All I can say is it’s amazing what people consider ‘basic’. Basic, people! (If you do have a tutorial suitable for beginners, feel free to link to it in the comments!)

Till next time.

5 thoughts on “welcome, winter ~ our first winter nature table

  1. Cool idea; I love the idea of a nature table! Right now we have a nature bucket but my gal loves to gather rocks, nuts, pinecones and the like. This would be a great addition to our home learning; thanks so much for sharing!

  2. Pingback: a belated christmas post | motherwho

Leave a Reply

