the first taste of chocolate

I had to start with this picture from the weekend, just because it melts my heart. My little Nell with my quiet Gramps, love spanning across four generations of our lovely family. There is just something about these two. Something about the other that draws them together and connects them to each other. She has that affect on people. I love being the silent observer at moments like this.

So, it was Easter over the weekend, yes! I’m still sitting here eating chocolate eggs from my Mum who doesn’t believe for a second that at 29 I’m too old to be receiving eggs from the Easter Bunny. Thanks Ma.

I was slightly excited and nervous about Baby getting her first piece of chocolate on Sunday. It sounds ridiculous but I thought long and hard about what it would be and decided on one little fair-trade chocolate bunny from our local fair trade store, run by volunteers, which is also where I got the little felt eggs and chick, handmade by a group of women in Nepal.

When the little one was a baby and I was introducing foods and so on, people were not only shocked that we weren’t giving her sugar or processed foods, there were a number of people who were actually quite rude about our dietary choices for her. I can only conclude that maybe it touched a nerve for people who gave their kids whatever to eat without giving it a second thought, I think in some way our stricter choices offended them or made them feel like there was judgement. I hope I didn’t make anyone feel that way because I think its each parents’ prerogative to do whatever it is that sits within their values and comfort zone, but I wasn’t about to feed Nell food that was outside the boundaries of mine, just in the hope that I wouldn’t offend anyone. People scoffed when I said we weren’t planning to give her chocolate until she was two, saying it was impossible and we would have to ‘forget that idea quick smart’ and other such comments. Gosh, parenting is political, right?

I have to thank those people because even though I found the task not just possible, but incredibly easy, it was their comments and scoffing that made me so determined to prove them wrong and do it the way we wanted to. Yah. Stubborn lady right here. With those comments in my ear, there was absolutely no way I was going to fail! Just like the time I was laughed at while pregnant for wanting to choose cloth nappies, saying once I had kids I would ‘understand’ why it was so funny (uhuh, patronising folk). So to you too, cloth nappy abhorrers! We are cloth-nappy-wearing, non-chocolate-eating warriors! Take that! Well, when I say ‘we’, PC and I wear perfectly normal cotton underwear without padding, and I do eat chocolate, but you understand what I am saying here.

Phew, now I’m scanning the people I know who read this blog and hoping that it wasn’t any of them who made such comments to us… hang on………………………………………..think…… think, think…….. thinkety, think………. nope, all my family and friend readers are goodies. Yay!

Just like with her birthday last week, I was ridiculously excited planting out the magic felt eggs and her one little chocolate bunny for a treasure hunt, I didn’t for a second think that she would connect said cute bunny to an actually bunny like ours at home, and hence be horrified at the concept of eating it! She gripped that little sucker so hard I thought the whole thing would melt all over her before she would have a taste. Then I was picturing the scene from The Wizard of Oz when the wicked witch melts into a gooey nothing and having to explain to a crying two year old covered in chocolate muck where the dear beloved bunny went.

I tried telling her it was like a ‘hard cake’ thinking she would eat it for sure if it was cake, but the look I got back said nothing more than you seriously think I’m stupid enough to believe that THIS is cake? It’s a dorgeous bunny you idiot!

We thought we’d go for a walk on the beach and try again when we got back, but then she wanted to bring the bunny with us. We managed to pry it out of her hot little hands and swap it for a felt egg for the walk. When we got back my sister encouraged her to have a lick of the bunny. She finally relented if only to appease all the stupid adults hanging around to see the first bite, then went back to her drawing. Within a split second her head swung back towards the bunny as she finally realised what we were all on about. She bit the ears off… and then was appalled to see a bunny without ears and again wouldn’t go near it. In the end, after convincing myself I had traumatised her for life with images of earless bunnies whenever the word Easter is mentioned, I crushed it up into little pieces so it didn’t resemble any sort of cute creature, and she gobbled it up within about ten seconds flat mumbling with a full mouth: “Bit more.”

Moral of the story: do not try to feed child any sort of food that resembles cute animals ever again, particularly ones which we own and love and cuddle on a daily basis.

One thought on “the first taste of chocolate

  1. Pingback: feeding a small child: what has worked for me | motherwho

Leave a Reply

