I keep saying I’m back…

And then I disappear again…

Just keeping you all on your toes!

I have had a good excuse though and I think it’s time to own up… terrible, horrible, green-coloured morning sickness!!! Yep, that’s right, pregnant again. Lots of smily faces around here now as I’ve hit 14 weeks and am slowly beginning to resemble myself again.

Let’s just say I haven’t been much fun to be around.

It was quite a shock as when I was pregnant last time I did get morning sickness, but more on and off throughout the day. This time around I seemed to wake up one morning at the end of January feeling super-ridiculously-disgustingly nauseous… and then that was just my life until about two weeks ago. It doesn’t seem like a long time in hindsight, but just trying to get to the end of each day in order to go to sleep and forget about it did take its toll. That and the fact I’ve been eating really strange food (for me) and/or enormous quantities of the same food over a certain week, then unable to look at it the following week… has knocked me around a bit too. Mmmm… tasty…

An even bigger shock was thinking back to these early weeks in my first pregnancy, reminiscing about getting home from work and lying on the couch, drifting off to yoga and floating to the library to borrow books with titles like Meditating With Your Growing Baby or Breathing Through Labour, watching movies and… you get the idea. It was all about me. Me, me, me. This time, with a toddler bouncing off the walls there has been no time for rest aside from when she is asleep. Needless to say, I’ve been tired.

Nevertheless, it is very exciting and as I adjust to this new feeling of pregnancy I am trying to tune into this tiny little being who is making sure that his/her voice is being heard.

It was Nell’s second birthday yesterday and we had a marvellous family day out at Healesville Sanctuary and then to the Healesville Hotel for lunch. We had family over in the afternoon and more for dinner. She has a new appreciation for the word “present” and fell into bed without a peep last night at about 8.30pm. She is growing into such a beautiful little character, it’s been the most amazing experience of my life thus far to watch it happen.

We thought long and hard about what to get her for her birthday present and decided to lash out on a gorgeous handmade doll which I sourced on Etsy. I bought it towards the end of last year and there was a last minute panic when I went to wrap it and couldn’t find the ‘safe place’ I had hidden her! Eventually found the doll under the bed. Phew! It was a happy moment when the two met which was beautiful to watch. I also crocheted a little hat for Nell so had two presents to open when she woke up. You’ll have to excuse all my instagram photos as I haven’t been carrying my camera around as much lately!

I made my first ever birthday crown using this great tutorial from Frontier Dreams which I found super easy to follow (thank you!). I didn’t spend as much time on the theme as it was 10pm the night before her birthday… oops… but perhaps we can add to it or change it in future years.

I also ran out of time to finish the ‘birthday’ rug I was making her, but I don’t have too much more to do so really hoping to finish this before the weather gets colder.

We’re off to the beach for Easter tomorrow, we’ve been packing and getting organised since EIGHT AM this morning, so I am well and truly ready for bed. Every time we go camping I tell myself that next time I will start getting organised the week before, I’ll pack lighter, I’ll write a permanent list and keep it on the computer, I’ll do this and do that. Hmmm… doesn’t seem to happen that way. Anyhoo, haven’t packed my own clothes yet so perhaps that one promise of packing lighter can still happen…!

Happy Easter to those who are celebrating, and a lovely weekend to all regardless.

9 thoughts on “I keep saying I’m back…

  1. Oh my crazy freakin’ god, that’s amazing news, CONGRATULATIONS! 🙂
    I, obviously, feel for you on the pregancy/toddler situation; I’m hitting the point now where I just dont want to/cant bend over and pick Paige up all day everyday. Midday naps for mumma and bub are an essential and highly recommended!
    You made me laugh with your ‘books with titles like Meditating With Your Growing Baby or Breathing Through Labour,’ comment… so true and unappreciated at the time.

    Looking forward to reading about what comes next, perhaps you’ll do a better job than me, I’m taking a blogger break til after baby arrives, I’m just to stretched now so something has to give, and the blog is it.

    • Thanks Brooke! Yes I have been following your pregnancy too and you are looking amazing! Can definitely relate and already at 15 weeks I’m finding it harder to bend over and pick Nella up so can imagine that is only going to get harder and harder as the months go on.

      Good on you for taking a blogging break, I think it’s important to prioritise things in life for sure!!! Looking forward to hearing about the new bubba when the time comes. xxx

    • Thanks Ingrid!!! In answer to your question – it does look mighty horrid doesn’t it… but alas it is not butter, it’s swiss cheese!! For some reason had a strange hankering for it. Over it now but at the time that plate looked like a delicacy to me… strange indeed!!!

  2. Pingback: New Start « My Pathetic Attempts At Love

Leave a Reply

