for the love of cabbage

We get a weekly organic fruit and vegetable box from a fairly well known online fresh food delivery company. We were getting the family box but dropped back down to the couple’s box a while ago and we bulk it up with fruit and veg bought locally. I’ve been really happy with the service. And the price. And the quality, mostΒ of the time. Everything was going along just peachy.

Enter: The Cabbage.

That’s a big cabbage, right? That damn cabbage has been appearing in our couple’sΒ box about every fortnight for over a month now. At one point I had two and a half of these babies gawking at me every time I opened my fridge. So I gawked back. And left them there. What a waste! And, correct me if I’m wrong, but I don’t think cabbage is even in season in Australia right now? I’m confused. I’m pretty upset. Ok, I’m downright angry!

So I ring this popular company and have a chat. I’m Lucy, and Lucy answered the phone. So things were friendly from the get-go. I said to Lucy: “Seriously Lucy, it’s a couple’s box. What are two people supposed to do with a basketball sized cabbage?” Lucy had a laugh. I asked her what would happen if I said I was seriously allergicΒ to cabbage. She said I’d have to opt out of the box and pick my fruit and veg singly. Damnit Lucy! She said she’d get my driver to give me a call so we could talk about it. It’s been almost a week and I haven’t heard a thing.

On my to-do list tomorrow is to check out some other options in the way of organic fruit and vegetable delivery. I was starting to feel a bit like this company is kinda big enough to almost be like Coles or Woolworths in costume anyway.

Do you have a great, affordable, friendly, strong-aversion-to-cabbage, family-run organic business in Melbourne? Do you want a new customer? Gimme your best sales pitch! I’m all ears!

And/or do you have a really awesome recipe involving cabbage that you want to share with me?

13 thoughts on “for the love of cabbage

  1. I think you should shop at the farmers’ markets on Saturdays.
    They are so fab for the customer and the farmer.
    Melbourne is so lucky to have the best markets in Australia I think.
    I am an organic farmer and there is no way I could get a box delivered because I like to choose and I don’t like cabbage either.
    That’s what I think.

    • Thanks so much Kate, we have been doing a bit of shopping at our local farmers’ market but last year they didn’t have an organic fruit and veg stall! They had regular veg but not organic which is what we want. (It’s a relatively new and quite small one). Do you do any markets in Melbourne?

  2. I think I can guess who you buy from….and yes I suspect they are kinda like woolworths or coles in costume.

    I wonder where the cabages came from, cause you are right they aren’t in season at the moment?

    I love stir fried cabbage with seasame oil and sesame seeds. Delish.

    Good luck finding an alternative πŸ™‚

    • Hi Tricia, I don’t doubt you’ve nailed it! I think I’m going to go with Kate’s suggestion and ditch the convenience of my box for a while… I’ve just popped a few farmers’ markets on my calendar and will try to get into the flow of that. Oh, and stir fry ANYTHING with sesame oil and sesame seeds and I’m anyone’s! πŸ™‚

  3. Hi Lucy,
    My mum is friends with yours and given Mum’s borderline computer skills, she got me to find your blog for her and I’ve been having a read. You’ve got lots of great stuff here, thanks!
    My box intermittently goes heavy on the cauliflower which can be a bit of a nuisance but has occasional runs of cabbage too. I make coleslaw with yoghurt/mustard/lemon juice dressing, sauteed cabbage with apples, okonomiyaki (yummy japanese pancakes), stirfrys and am considering learning to pickle it! (I love preserving things…)
    Good luck!
    Char
    PS If cauliflower becomes a fridge-hogging problem, I suggest steaming it then mashing with an egg, wholemeal flour, spring onions and lemon zest then frying scoops in a smidge of butter or on the bbq. Great hot or cold with tomato relish. C

    • Hi Charlotte, of course – it’s been a long time! Don’t think either of us would have cared two hoots about cabbage or cooking last time we met πŸ™‚ Glad you found your way to my blog. Mum has equally questionable computer skills and it took her about a year to read my blog after I started it! Definitely going to try out your tips here, thanks! I would love to get into preserving but haven’t got the faintest as to where to start. Hope you’re well and loving life! xxx

      • Fantastic!! Apparently the direct japanese translation is “anything you feel like – fried” which reminds me of my favourite meal “things I like in a bowl” or the underrated “things I like in a bowl with yoghurt on top”. Both delicious too!
        Even though preserving and cabbage never blipped on my radar, I don’t feel very different to who I was when we last met (?15 or 20 years ago!!)
        Summer fruits are the best preserving first stop. Apricots or strawberries. Don’t freak out at the masses of sugar, you don’t eat that much at a time!!
        xC

  4. Pingback: cursing the cabbage | motherwho

  5. This sauerkraut is super delic and makes a great sweet and sour stir fry (see below) even if you think saukerkraut is gross, try this one with the stir fry and baked fish. So good for your tummy!!!
    Sauerkraut;
    A wonderful traditional European way of keeping cabbage by a natural fermentation process, creating a lot of healthy enzymes and nutrients for both our gut and digestion. It can be used then as a salad or added last into soup, stir-fry etc. Don’t overcook or you will lose those wonderful enzymes.
    This method was shown to me by a dear Polish friend Ewa.
    You will need;
    2 Buckets the same size,
    One very fresh preferably organic Cabbage.
    One to 4 carrots,
    Small apples (optional)
    Celtic salt (about a handful)
    Caraway seeds (optional)
    A very good grater.
    Method;
    Grate the cabbage and carrot very fine and mix with the salt (do this on a clean bench) until the cabbage weeps enough to squeeze water from it.
    Mix in the caraway if you like this flavour
    Pack the mix into the bucket layer by layer, packing it very tight. You can place small apples (must be covered by the mix) if you would like sour apple to eat or add to your cooking.
    When all of the mix is packed tightly in the bucket, then place the other bucket inside and 2/3 fill with water.
    This water bucket becomes the weight required to keep the mix as compressed as possible.
    Leave in a room of reasonably consistent temperature with a clean cloth over the whole thing.
    Depending on temp, it will take 3 to 5 days, so taste from the top and do not disturb the bottom until ready to place it all in the refrigerator.

    Sauerkraut sweet and sour stir-fry.
    In a pan stir fry;
    Pumpkin
    Onion
    Apple
    Carrot
    Red Capsicum
    Garlic
    When above is cooked mix in the Sauerkraut until heated through and then serve.
    xxxxxxx

    • Thanks Soph! I will have to give this a go. I have never liked Sauerkraut but I have also never NOT liked anything you have cooked me sooooo…. I think that’s a sign that I should try it out. Thanks!!! xxxxx

Leave a Reply

