my first unplugged sunday

Yesterday, we unplugged.

We ambled back to the city from our snowy mini-break.

We didn’t check facebook or twitter.

We didn’t look things up on the drive.

We didn’t refer to online maps.

We talked and sang and looked out the window.

We stopped at a park for some coffee fresh air.

I succumbed back at home – to look up a recipe for dinner. Not cheating? Hmm…

And then it was kind of over because I played my scrabble moves on my phone before I went to bed…

Ok, so I semi failed but 75% of a day is a start, right?

 

7 thoughts on “my first unplugged sunday

  1. Thanks Jo! Types me, from my couch with the TV on, lap top on my lap and about to go to bed to play scrabble on my iPhone!!! Gah! Next Sunday I’m aiming for a FULL day off, except for a TV show at 8.30pm before bed… we’ll see! I really did feel better for it though. Sometimes I feel trapped by all this technology hanging off me.

  2. Don’t get discouraged mama! If you made the effort to make just one simple change and you followed through with it, then pat yourself on the back!

    Make unplugging your own. Give yourself credit for the slowness you produce and shake away worries about how well you think you should be unplugging. πŸ™‚ Keep it up! It evolves into something beautiful and matches who you are and what you really treasure.

    • Thanks for the encouragement and beautiful words Jessie! There is a post on unplugged sunday about the electronic devices calling you throughout the day – that certainly happened to me, haha! We’re going to try again this Sunday and plan a family activity for each Sunday so that we are also spending some quality time together! Looking forward to it πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Reduce Your Stress: 8 Ways To Unplug « Lynne Jenrow Women's Wellness|Wellness Coaching|Empowerment|Lifestyle|

Leave a Reply

