a spring salad

Thank you, dear friends, for your texts and messages after my post yesterday. I truly love you.

I’m feeling a bit better today, although last night when my hot water bottle burst boiling water all over me in bed, I was feeling a little hard done by, to say the least. I suppose I should be thankful that I had a hot water bottle, and a bed, to begin with.

Nevertheless, a new day awoke this morning and my puffy eyes and I have been keeping Baby company today, trying to wash away the negative vibes of yesterday. We went to mother’s group this morning and I was reassured by some of the lovely mums in our group. It didn’t make me feel a whole lot better, but just being out in the sunshine, eating cake and coffee, surrounded by friends was a good start to the day.

Most of you will know I am in the last ten days of the 30 Day Vegan wholefood cleanse. I threw a spanner in the works and decided to cut sugar out of my diet as well. Needless to say I am the Worst. Vegan. Ever. Oh, and the Worst. Non. Sugar. Eater. Ever. Too. Yes, you saw in my last sentence that I was eating cake this morning. I ate an omlette for dinner last night and skulled full cream milk from the bottle the day before that. I ate half a batch of mint slice on Saturday, and gladly gobbled up a handful of jelly beans in the office yesterday. I’m not proud, people, but I have accepted of my misdemeanours and am trying to make amends from now until the end of the thirty days. I do have to question the fact that my erratic mood over the last few days has coincided with a reintroduction (read: binge) of sugar and dairy products.

To start fresh, when Baby went down to bed today I scrubbed our dirty kitchen, put on a load of washing, and made myself a version of my favourite lentil salad:

:: 1 tin brown lentils

:: coriander

:: parsley

:: big handful of currants

:: dry roasted nuts – sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, almonds, any.

:: red onion

:: red capsicum

:: juice of 1/2 a lime

:: sesame oil

:: rocket or spinach leaves

Basically you can put anything you like in this salad. You can see in mine I have tamari roasted almonds, cabbage, corn, no onion, etc. The lentils, currants, lime juice and sesame oil are the essential ingredients which give it a similar flavour no matter which ingredients you add. You might like to add cucumber, celery, etc. Whatever you like.

Now it’s time for coffee.

7 thoughts on “a spring salad

  1. I think I’ll give this a go. I miss tamari almonds -used to buy them at the farmers markets. I would never have the willpower for a month of vegan..well done for getting this far! Hope your week improves for you.

      • P.S. Tania – I made the tamari almonds myself. It is SUPER easy. If you have some almonds, dry roast them for about 15 minutes in the oven. Pull them out and stir through some tamari, maple syrup (if you have it) and some cumin. Put back in the oven until they are dry(ish) and smelling delicious. I’ve been eating them all week. Particularly good when you want something a bit on the sweet side! Will post this to your blog too in case you don’t come back to see this. xo

Leave a Reply

