A Memory

I was tidying up this morning and stumbled across an old notebook. I found an entry inside dated 10 September 2010, Baby was five months old. I thought I would share it with you today.

A single tear drifts across the bridge of your nose as you suck. A gentle dance along your smooth skin. You’re lying sideways, longways. Horizontal.

A perfect palm lays across my breast. Skin to skin. Warm. I can feel the outline of your tiny hand on my warm skin. Gentle pressure. Slight, unconscious movements. Your perfect face is barely moving but for shallow breaths. Inside your mouth your tongue pulls at my nipple, bringing forth abundance. 

Your eyes are closed but just moments ago they curled and rolled with the most basic of pleasures. The very heart of humanity and beauty and life itself is caught in this single moment.

This one single moment of truth, of real, of substance.

Nothing else matters. 

4 thoughts on “A Memory

  1. Hi
    I landed here through tag surfer. You have so beautifully captured that one moment with your words. Breastfeeding establishes such an immensely strong bond between mother and child, there’s nothing more gratifying or beautiful in life. 🙂

    • Hi Indu, thanks so much for your lovely comment, breastfeeding was such a beautiful experience, I’m very grateful to have been able to take part in it. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

