Quitting… Cold Turkey

Baby quit breastfeeding. Cold turkey! One day she was happily drinking away, the next… BAM! I received a firm shake of the head, pushing away and the sign we use for ‘finished’. This went on twice a day for four days. On the fifth day I didn’t offer and instead waited for her to sign ‘milk’… waited and waited and waited. I’m still waiting.

It’s been thirteen days since my very last breastfeed with Baby. If only I had known it would be the last time!

I did always say that I wanted her to be the one to tell me when she was ready to stop, rather than ‘weaning’ her myself. She is now fifteen months old, and I was feeling like the end was near. I just didn’t expect it to be so sudden.

3 thoughts on “Quitting… Cold Turkey

  1. How upsetting. Now that we’ve had 9mths practice I enjoy my and Paige’s feeding times together and I know I’ll be upset when she’s done. But can I just say good on you for doing it 15 months! There’s a very large percentage of women out there who don’t even give it a couple of weeks. Crazy to me that you don’t want to give your child the best start in life (this comment obviously doesnt apply to those who cant, but there is a big difference between those who cant and those who wont!).

    renewvintage.blogspot

  2. Yes, it is such a treasured time isn’t it! Thanks for your encouragement. I was beginning to feel like things were coming to an end (on my part) so I am glad that Nella put a stop to it herself, even though it did come as a shock. I never knew how long I would breastfeed for, my aim was 12 months and then anything beyond that was a bonus. I think it’s really something that you can’t predict (in my case this is extra true!!). Enjoy your special quiet time with Paige, I will never forget Nell’s content expression staring up at me when breastfeeding. An expression I have never seen from her at any other point in time. Lovely. xo

  3. Pingback: on a whim… | motherwho

Leave a Reply

