La La Land

I think I used to think more as a kid.

Yep, I definitely did.

You know, really think! Stare into space think. Get fuzzy head think. Blurry eyes think. Cloudy think. Deep think!

I lay in bed last night before picking up my book and stared at the ceiling. I felt overwhelmed, over stimulated. That was the first moment of my day, after 10pm at night, that I had stopped for breath. It wasnt like I’d had an unpleasant day, I was just all a-go-go, all day long. So I lay and watched a little moth bop along the window sill, then noticed a cobweb in the corner. A rather large cobweb…

I haven’t been to yoga this week, and that is often what brings me back to earth. A gentle reminder to take things slow.

Over Easter we visited a quiet beach I used to go to with my family as a child. I hadn’t been there in at least 18 years. I remember wandering away from my family there, all of us stretching out along the beach in our parkers on chilly afternoons, lost in our own thoughts. There was hardly ever anyone else there. I remember staring out to sea, imagining mermaids in the deep, noticing tiny individual grains of sand, finding little shells shaded rainbows of powder pink, watching the lip of each wave curl over and under before crashing. Sometimes I’d go back to our beach house and write a little poem about what I saw.

It reminded me of the deep thoughts I used to have, and the time I would spend floating around in my head with those thoughts.

I think it does you good, that type of thing. So I think I’ll try to do a bit more of the thinky thing. Yes, I think it’s high time.

4 thoughts on “La La Land

  1. Agreed. I remember deep thinking times when i was little. I remember looking as the sun shone through open space and seeing all the little particles of dust etc… and wondering if this is what air really was?! Sitting on that square bench made around that big tree in the back/(front) yard…. watching the dog, watching the cars go by, watching people go by…. now there is not enough time in life and we have too much going on to have deep thinking times! Or in the spare time we do have to have to ‘think’ we spend being busied and overstimulated by TV, the internet etc. Thinking, or stopping to not think also helps to bring me back to living in this moment, concentrating on senses like touch etc, to appreciate the present, and to help me come back down to earth. Thank you for reminding me about this! I’m going to make an effort to do more of it.

    • Totally agree love. That square bench around the tree in our backyard was a perfect thinking spot. The particles of dust in the air – remember that so well!!! We are so alike… we must be sisters! 🙂 Love you xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

