Little Snippets of Inspiration

Last night around 9pm I had a sudden burst of energy and my creative bones were singing.

I was given a marvellous book for Christmas – Sew La Tea Do by Pip Lincolne. Some of you might be familar with Meet Me At Mikes? Sew La Tea Do is her second book (as far as I am aware) and it has 25 fun sewing projects as well as other bits and pieces. We likey, likey, loo. Check it out! Do, do, do!

So, back to my singing bones. I picked up the book and held it and opened it. I turned the pages, backwards, forwards, faster, slower, faster, faster, until… I landed on this page…

(Someone fabulous over at Calico & Co has taken these photos which I found on google, so thank you for that!)

I wasn’t sure about making a dress, but I had the remainders of a cute vintage sheet that I thought would make a good top (although I was a little suss – can you wear sheets? My grandmother would be horrified). I used the top 3/4 of the pattern and a bit of creative flair, and by 11pm I had…

Ok, this is the second item of clothing I have dared to make (first being a skirt), so it does have a few areas for improvement such as the joins at the shoulders and the seams. I got a bit confused about ‘facing’. It says to snip the facing here and there but I just don’t get it. Any tips? I also can’t seem to make the seams tight enough. Any suggestions would be appreciated! I found out this is not my strong point the hard way at my mother in law’s 60th birthday party a few weeks ago. I was wearing the green dress in this post. I was standing around on the balcony with a drink in hand, hair flowing, etc, when I felt an unsightly breeze. I reached down to my upper thigh – That feels suspiciously like skin not vintage polyester I thought to myself with eyes squinted. Sure enough I looked down to see that the dress had come apart. I swiftly ran downstairs and changed into a pair of jeans. It’s getting a bit chilly, isn’t it! Brrr…

After that everything was just swell.

So, again, bringing it back to the bones. I am so proud of this top! Despite the fact the shoulders sections are different sizes, the top half is way too tight and the seams will probably come undone when I wear it out [today]. Yes, today! I’m wearing it today. I can’t lift my arms above my shoulders, but that is a-okay. In fact it is a bit of a stretch to reach the keyboard, but we won’t dwell on such things.

Baby and I are heading out for a soy latte after her nap. Hopefully I’ll be able to bring the coffee cup to my mouth without splitting in half!

Leave a Reply

