One Word: New

#reverb10 for the month of December: an online initiative to reflect on your year and manifest what’s next. Each day in December there will be a creative prompt to respond to. Here is the first:

Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?

New

2010 has been a year of new.

New life

New Baby

New experiences

New roles

New things

New hobbies

New skills

New rhythms

New people

New Me

I don’t tend to like change. I can be a bit of a grump when it comes to accepting new things, things that change the way I do things, the way I live, my surroundings. When I was a kid I used to get nostalgic if I changed my bedroom furniture around and had to sleep facing a different way. I know this will come as a shock, but I am a stubborn old granny underneath my clever 28 year old disguise. As you can imagine this has made 2010 challenging, yet somehow I have been freed from some of my old ways. I am not about to rush off and move the couch in my lounge room, but I can now flow through life with a lot more flexibility than I had in 2009.

In one year’s time I will use the word brilliant to describe 2011… I love the word brilliant. Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant. Brilliant colours, words, times, experiences, people… it really can encapsulate a lot.

Here’s to 2011 being brilliant for us, me, you and all!

Leave a Reply

