On Wanting

It’s hard not to want things. Want, want, want. It’s a horrible feeling, to be left, wanting. Especially at this time of year when shops are screaming at you, the television is reminding you of all the things you need, people around you are talking about all the things they are buying, and Christmas is looming. I have been trying desperately to avoid spending money on things, particularly at this hectic time of year when it would be much quicker for me to run out to the shops or order things online. There are so many wonderful and beautiful gifts out there, the thought of it is overwhelming.

However, a while ago I decided to have a Buy Nothing New Christmas. At that point I didn’t even have a sewing machine… it’s crazy what happens when you put something out to the universe. I now have a couple of sewing machines, a weekly sewing circle with other beautiful crafty women from my family, an enormous collection of vintage and thrifted fabric, and a growing pile of things I have made or modified.

A skirt - my Gran drew me the pattern!

Laptop cover made from an old woollen jumper which I felted

Cutlery roll - idea from Little Eco Footprints

Baby's bib - idea from The Crafty Minx

Boy's bib

Op shop dress - was size 18 with sleeves...!

I am slowly learning how to use the machine and thread the needle and fix mistakes (many) and so on. My workspace is also all set up – albeit on the kitchen table, will have to do something about this…

I was at the op shop the other day and saw a very cute medium sized 1970’s table for $15. I have since been having visions of this table set up with my sewing machine in our spare room in front of the window where the spare bed currently is. I have also been imagining the bed packed up underneath the house… And a vase with fresh flowers on the table… And people sleeping in our lounge room when they come to stay… And me with a cup of tea at said table sewing harmoniously in the mint green room while Baby is sleeping… I have not mentioned any of this to Prince Charming as yet…

I have also been thinking about the amount of things we are constantly buying, and the impact this has on both our purses and the environment. I’ve been finding much inspiration online at blogs such as Ecomilf and Down to Earth which has left meย considering extending my Buy Nothing New Christmas to a Buy Nothing New 2011 (at least the first 6 months)… I am still thinking about the logistics of this and am feeling a little apprehensive… will keep you posted!

5 thoughts on “On Wanting

  1. Haha funny you say that, my sister and I were just talking yesterday about having a market stall next year. The good news is, if you did buy something from us it would be made locally and from thrifted fabrics so you are still doing your bit for the environment!!! Convinced? xo

  2. Pingback: Little Snippets of Inspiration « motherwho

  3. Pingback: buy nothing new christmas // the first of a new series | motherwho

  4. Pingback: it’s that time again… | motherwho

Leave a Reply

