Kicking consumerism to the curb

consumerism |kənˈsoōməˌrizəm| : often derogatory the preoccupation of society with the acquisition of consumer goods.

It’s Spring, the wind is blowing, and change is headed my way.

It’s time for a lifestyle makeover.

I’ve been sailing my way through maternity leave, and now that Baby is turning 6 months old NEXT WEEK I am feeling the panic start to rise. Where has the time gone? It seems like last week that she was looking up in my general direction with foggy eyes and a floppy little neck. Now she is rolling over, giggling, grabbing, looking at everything, shoving everything in her mouth, sitting up with some support and her personality is glowing.

People all around are starting to talk about going back to work. Some mums in my mother’s group have already gone back to work and their little babies are either in childcare or being looked after by relatives, friends and so on.

I am due to go back to work next March, and it wasn’t until recently that we realised how much we have been relying on the fortnightly baby bonus payment… which is due to finish in a couple of weeks time. Looking back over the last 6 months makes me realise that money was the furthest thing from our minds and really we have still been living as though I was earning an income. If we don’t make a change then I will have to go back to work – much earlier than planned.

Panic stations!!!

I don’t want to have to go back to work any earlier than I have to. This time with Baby is so precious and I don’t want to waste it!

I have been searching the internet left right and centre and have come to the conclusion that a major life re-evaluation is in order! This means a budget, for a start… yes, something we are sadly lacking. And from there, some realigning of values. My goal is to shake the I Want I Want I Want bug, and to be happy with a simpler life. It sounds all lovely and romantic and straightforward, but those of you who also have the I Want bug will know that it’s not so easy to shake.

Step 1: Say bye bye to Soy Lattes. Who wants to buy my Keep Cup for a very reasonable price?

Step 2: New mantra – Baby does not know if she is wearing organic cotton or Op Shop. Repeat, repeat, repeat, repeat, repeat.

This is how we will start.

2 thoughts on “Kicking consumerism to the curb

  1. Pingback: The Bread Dread « motherwho

  2. Pingback: The Bread Dread « motherwho

Leave a Reply

