Mummy-Me-Time

Today I was lucky enough to get some much needed Mummy-Me-Time (MMT). As usual it was spent doing the food shopping… You are probably thinking this almost defeats the purpose of MMT in which one would assume the mummy in question does something indulgent and of interest but hey, I am taking what I can get at the moment.

Even pre-baby however in order to add some light entertainment to my otherwise boring outing I have a shameful habit of stalking people at the supermarket and inspecting all the things they buy to make me feel better about myself. Eg. Oh look, that woman is buying chips and magnum gold icecreams – quick glance at the tofu and chickpeas in my trolley – oh yes aren’t I good and healthy and modern. In this game it particularly helps if the person being stalked is overweight or wearing trackies and ugg boots or has obvious signs of oil in their hair or all of the above.

This game has become even more thrilling now I am a mother. Now I can inspect peoples’ bad food choices with an extra touch of smugness. Eg. Oh look, that woman is buying chips and magnum gold icecreams – quick glance at the tofu and chickpeas and BPA free dummies in my trolley – oh yes aren’t I good and healthy and modern and responsible and motherly all at the same time. Today I even wore a stripy top with jeans and a badge just to show how modern and cool I am, despite my new motherly status. Really, if you must know, it is just a bid to increase my self esteem now that my somewhat deflated post-baby-body has been returned looking ever so slightly different to the one I remember. Ok, a lot different to the one I remember.

Anyway, today when I was skulking up the frozen food aisle turning my nose up at someone’s choice of chicken nuggets, my phone rang. It was a girlfriend of mine who rang to tell me about the crazy weekend she’d had: drinking, hangovers, sex with her nextdoor neighbour, clothes shopping, brunch and coffee to cure said hangover, an emerging writers’ festival event, etc. As she was chatting away in my ear I looked down at my stripy top, jeans and badge and glanced at the tofu and chickpeas (and BPA free dummies and nappies) in my trolley. I thought about my weekend spent breastfeeding, watching episodes of Wilfred and Sex and the City, early nights and crosswords and felt a little bland to be honest. But then thought of my baby girl waiting for me (aka my breasts) at home and remembered it’s all worth it. I detoured via the chocolate aisle on my way out (even people in stripy tops have to slip up sometime) and headed for home.

3 thoughts on “Mummy-Me-Time

  1. Pingback: Sewing up a Storm with Alice « motherwho

Leave a Reply

