eating

One of the questions most commonly asked amongst my friends:

What’s for dinner tonight?

IMG_3960

We are a bunch that love to cook and swap recipes and inspire each other in this way. Another one of the most commonly repeated phrases:

I’m so bored with cooking! I don’t know what to make! I’m sick of all my recipes!

IMG_4597

I love hearing what my friends are making for dinner. It’s more often than not something I haven’t thought of making myself, which encourages me to try something new. I love hearing what other people’s staple meals are and what they cook if they have nothing planned and nothing in the fridge (this happens around here all too often due to bad planning on my part).

In saying that, as a rule I fill out a meal planner each week. I have tried to do this fortnightly or monthly but the longer my plan goes for, the more likely I am to run out of food or not have the ingredients I need so weekly works best for us.

I am finding it especially hard to think of things to eat while the heat wave continues in Melbourne. Yuck! We don’t have very good air conditioning so it makes it difficult to cook anything extravagant. I’m using my slow-cooker a lot as it doesn’t heat up the kitchen, along with the BBQ.

IMG_3962

This week we are having:

Monday // chicken, barley and veg stirfry

Tuesday // lentil dahl in the slow-cooker with brown rice and greens

Wednesday // salmon on the BBQ and salad

Thursday // brocolli and chickpea noodles

Friday // ooh potentially have a girlfriend coming over for a movie night so will put some more thought in here!

Saturday // rice paper rolls with raw satay sauce and salad (sounds la-di-da but is ridiculously easy)

Sunday // kid friendly pad thai with tofu

When I’m thinking about what to cook I have some basic rules. We are currently trying to eat more fish so I’m trying to schedule that in once a week. We eat red meat about once a fortnight and chicken around once a week. We don’t eat pork aside from bacon every now and again from our free-range butcher. Outside of that we eat vegetarian meals mainly based around legumes or another protein combination. I limit tofu to once a week, if that, due to high levels of processing and being unsure about my thoughts around soy consumption for the kidlets. That’s about it!

What’s for dinner at your place tonight?

* * *

Some other food related posts you might be interested in:

Ditching the big guys

When breastfeeding costs more than formula

Comfort food

Feeding a small child: what has worked for me

 

6 thoughts on “eating

    • Hi Jenna! I usually set aside some time each weekend to check what we have in the house, write down what we will eat each day that week and then write a shopping list at the same time if I’m missing ingredients. That way you have everything you need on hand when the week begins and you also only buy things that you need for your planned meals that week. Number one tip is to schedule the time! Once you’re in the swing of it it just becomes second nature x

  1. Hi Lucy. Love your blog. Don’t really get blogging, but exploring. I have decided to try one new recipe a week til Easter. This week it’s Zucchini Cheesecake. (“I Quit Sugar” page 96)

Leave a Reply

