books and a bandwagon

I have officially jumped on the Leonie Dawson bandwagon and a couple of weeks ago bought her 2014 workbook. It has been a bit of fun so far, and as such last night I finished a list of 100 things I want to do this year. I actually found this an incredibly hard list to write! It contains a lot of things including activities related to personal, spiritual, family, financial and relationship goals.

One of my 100 things is to read at least 20 books in 2014. We are a household of book lovers and love nothing more than cosying up together to read. I’m already a bit behind my target having only read one book over summer, but I’ve almost finished number two. Perhaps if I stopped writing lists and read books instead I might work my way through a little faster…

photo-28

Earlier in January I read Burial Rites by Hannah Kent. I loved this book. It was beautifully written and Hannah Kent has a wonderful way of portraying the varying positions of each of the characters.

I’m currently reading The Trees by Conrad Richter. I’ve almost finished this one and have also loved reading it. Conrad Richter did a lot of research into the era in which the book is set, and the language is beautifully poetic and true to the nature of the time. I think this is the first of a trilogy, I’m not sure I would continue on with it though.

Next on the to read list are:

/The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

/Life of Pi by Yann Martel

/Brooklyn by Colm Toibin

/We Are Water by Wally Lamb

To name just a few from a long list!

(I have also just bought Birdie Shaun Tan’s The Lost Thing for her fourth birthday in April… I’m totally organised!)

Do you like books? What is your favourite?

Does anyone have any other suggestions for wonderful brilliant amazing books that I absolutely must must must read?

6 thoughts on “books and a bandwagon

  1. Oh yay another to add to the list: Boy, Lost. I have heard of that vaguely I think. You’ll love the Book Thief! Great that you can also go straight away to see the movie afterwards (if you can handle it!) enjoy! xx

  2. Oh Dogger is one of my all time faves ;) But as for adult fiction, I have no works of literary genius to recommend. I do look forward to getting back to reading for myself one day soon! I did read ‘The Secret Keeper’ by Kate Morton at Christmas time and really enjoyed it. Sounds like you have a great list already. Are you in a book club?

    • I haven’t heard of The Secret Keeper, will have to look into it, thanks! I am not part of a book club but I do attend a writing group so I hear about some new books that way. What about you?

Leave a Reply

